Ethiopia, am proud of you for countless reasons. This is one of them. You did GOOD for THE MAN before nobody celebrated him or noticed him. 

Nelson Mandela’s Ethiopian passport, issued in 1962, under the false name David Motsamayi, he was not allowed to travel at that time. Upon his return to South Africa he was charged and arrested for this trip. During his time in Ethiopia he received military training, most likely in Holeta Military Academy.

[Long Walk To Freedom] by Nelson Mandela Page 47:
“Ethiopia has always held a special place in my own imagination and the prospect of visiting [it] attracted me more strongly than a trip to France, England and America combined. I felt I would be visiting my own genesis, unearthing the roots of what made me an African. Meeting the emperor himself would be like shaking hands with history.”

‪#‎History‬ For more read: http://bit.ly/1gK9M0G

“Anyone, anywhere in the world, who gets to be a leader knows that here is the benchmark.” Desmond Tutu on Mandela 

via tumblr http://emmanuelamberber.tumblr.com/post/69184643857

